You can merge two users within your account. Merging accounts combines the logins, contact methods, and enrollments for the two user accounts. Page views are not retained for the user who was merged.
If the account being merged is enrolled in a course that the account it is being merged into is not enrolled in, grade information will be transferred to the merged account. If both accounts are enrolled in the same course, grade information from the account being merged will not be transferred.
After the accounts have been merged, the user can use the logins that originated from either account to view all their course enrollments within the same account.
Notes:
- If you cannot merge users, you may not have the appropriate permissions or merging users has been turned off in your account.
- If necessary, user accounts can be split using the Canvas Users API or using the Split Merged Users link within 180 days of the user merge; however, merged users cannot be fully restored to their previous state.
- A manual merge of user accounts in different instances is not supported.
Open Account
In Global Navigation, click the Admin link [1], then click the name of the account [2].
Open People
In Account Navigation, click the People link.
Find User
Use the filter and search options to find the user in the account.
Open User Profile
In the search results, click the user's name.
Merge User
Click the Merge with Another User link.
Find User Account
Locate the user account where you want to merge the user's information. In the drop-down menu, find a user either by the User ID [1] or the Name [2].
To find a user by name, you may select from the Root Account drop-down menu [1]. Then, enter the user's name in the User field [2]. After confirming the user, click the Select button [3].
To find a user by user ID, enter the ID in the User ID field [1] and click the Select button [2].
Note: The User ID is found at the end of your Canvas URL (i.e. account.instructure.com/account/XXXXXX/users/XXXXXX).
Merge User Accounts
After selecting the user account to merge, the Preview & Confirm page displays.
View the source account that will be removed and the target account that will be kept [1].
The page displays account details including the user name, user ID, login information, emails, and enrollments [2].
To change which account is kept, click the Swap Source and Target Accounts button [3].
To restart the merge process, click the Start Over with Source Account button [4] or the Start Over with Target Account button [5].
When you are ready, click the Merge Accounts button [6].
Note: The page will not display enrollments in concluded courses or courses in an unpublished state.
Confirm Merge
You will be prompted one more time to ask if you are sure about merging the users together. When you are ready, click the Merge User Accounts button.
Note: This process cannot be undone.
A confirmation modal displays for admins before merging user accounts. Once you have confirmed all the details, click the Merge Accounts button.
View Confirmation
Confirm the merge was successful.