Hello, I use Canvas' "temporary enrollment pairing" to grant temporary access to course observers who are performing an evaluation. We have policies around how many days they have access to the course. The only problem is that observers are receiving notifications from the course before their access window even begins.
Once I "schedule" the observer in the course, their name is immediately visible in the "People" list, although they don't see the course card, nor can they see anything in the course until their start date. That used to bother me more than it does now, because Canvas has now put a little tag next to their name, indicating their enrollment status, whether it be "Active" or "Future".
I really need Canvas Developers to add some logic to prevent temporary enrollments marked "Future" from receiving notifications from that course. It does not make sense to me and I cannot imagine any circumstances in which you would want someone who is scheduled for "Future" access to see notifications already. Not cool.
Does anybody out there have some kind of workaround for this? I was looking for something in permissions where I could disable notifications by role, but I haven't found anything like that…
Thanks,
Kristy